Barisan Nasional will not back either PH or PN to form the next Malaysian government: Ismail Sabri

  • Share

KUALA LUMPUR: The Barisan Nasional (BN) will not join an election coalition with either the Pakatan Harapan (PH) or the Perikatan Nasional (PN), according to caretaker Prime Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob on Tuesday (Nov 22).

The vice president of the United Malays National Organisation (UMNO) stated on Facebook, “The BN supreme council has decided not to support any coalition to create a government.” BN opposes both Pakatan Harapan and Perikatan Nasional. BN has agreed to remain in the opposition for the time being.”

UMNO is BN’s lynchpin party.

This came when BN legislators met on Tuesday morning, just before the king’s 2 p.m. deadline for all parties to provide their numbers to form the next administration.

After the 15th general election (GE15) resulted in a hung parliament, both the PH and PN coalitions were in the race to create a new government, BN was considered as a kingmaker.

UMNO vice-president Khaled Nordin, Sabah BN chief Bung Moktar Radin, Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA) president Wee Ka Siong, and Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC) deputy president M Saravanan were seen entering the UMNO headquarters at around 10.30 a.m.

MCA and MIC are also BN constituent parties.

Hasni Mohamad, Simpang Renggam MP and former Johor chief minister, was also observed entering the building at 11.05 a.m.

Following the meeting, Mr Bung Moktar stated that BN leaders had not made a decision on who their pick for prime minister should be.

When reporters questioned Mr Bung Moktar about the meeting’s outcome, he stated, “We resolved nothing (at the meeting); whatever we do, we must do so as one team.” He further stated that no statutory declarations were signed at the meeting.

Warisan president Shafie Apdal stated his support for the probable partnership between PH and BN shortly before Mr Ismail Sabri’s declaration. Three seats were won by the Sabah-based party.

“Both have the necessary number of seats to form a government, and the vast majority of Malaysians voted for Pakatan Harapan and Barisan Nasional.” As a result, Pakatan Harapan and Barisan Nasional should be given first priority in forming a government, according to the Tuesday statement.

“The party believes that Pakatan Harapan and Barisan Nasional can acquire partners to form the next federal government, which would provide political stability and unity to the country.”

PH, led by Anwar Ibrahim, finished first in Saturday’s election, capturing 81 seats. Syed Saddiq of Malaysia’s United Democratic Alliance (MUDA) won an additional seat, bringing the total to 82.

Former Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin’s PN trailed with 73 seats, implying that neither coalition had enough seats to form an outright majority of 112 in a 222-seat parliament.

BN came in third place, trailing PH and PN, with 30 parliamentary seats.

Both leading coalitions had been recruiting potential allies in order to establish the government.

Source: CNA News

  • Share